.comment-link {margin-left:.6em;}

Sambhar Mafia - Cooked To Kill!

Thursday, October 19, 2006

How To Stop Them?

DesiBlah has been aggregating posts from a few blogs (include mine) without anybody's permission. Somehow, their site lands up ahead of the original blog in search engine results. They had a contact page and I wrote to them asking them to remove my feed from the aggregation as I don't want to be featured there. There has been no response from them for more than two weeks. Further, I notice that they have removed the contact information from their site. They seem to be more focussed on making money through Google Adsense. Does anybody have any idea how one can counter them?


  • Suggest other bloggers to blog about the $hit that DesiBlah is doing.

    By Blogger Vamsi, at 2:54 PM  

  • Maybe try and contact Google (i.e. AdSense.) You might be able to get their ad revenue stopped .... which would end the aggregating.

    By Blogger maisnon, at 3:49 PM  

  • The one way is to truncate your feeds to the first few lines - or just the header for a a few weeks. Most of these sites just leech on your RSS feeds. Yours is full-post publish mode. Once you truncate it - two things happen - their site no longer has full content, so it doesn't have much chance to feature high on Google.

    The other, is that they get tired and remove your feed. You could go back to normal in a few weeks. It's a little drastic - but the only way that it works.

    By Blogger neha vish, at 3:58 PM  

  • Couple of things:
    1. Write to feedburner to see if they can ban desiblah's feed fetcher.
    2. Write to Eliott Back and ask what his/their connection is with Desiblah.

    By Anonymous antrix, at 4:10 PM  

  • I think you can disable the RSS feed. But they can still do a copy paste routine.

    For contact info, you can do a whois search of the domain name.


    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 4:31 PM  

  • Did you notice, your article about them is featured in their own website!! HA HA HA HA

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 9:31 PM  

  • I would suggest you to check up with Google Adsense. I am sure they will be able to sort this out.

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 10:09 PM  

  • Start including your website address in your post.

    By Anonymous signscorp, at 3:29 AM  

  • Hi
    Send an email to the webmaster:
    Mark Neg: mmkay0440@gmail.com

    Or find more contact info at

    Look at google for more ways to play with RSS spam: http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&q=%22rss+spam%22+&meta=

    best wishes from a sambhar lover.

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 4:43 AM  

  • no one except you seem to be a blogger???....wierd isint it....

    By Anonymous The mottai boss, at 10:40 AM  

  • One funny thing is When I visited their site, I saw this post in the top.
    Report to Google as Duplicate site or pages

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 11:14 AM  

  • Best thing I would suggest is first contact Google AdSense Team and report about the violatio in copying website content.

    That should do the rest, the site will be banned from google search results as well from AdSense program.

    And Elliots Black is the guy who developed the RSS Fecth (I guess so?). Probably its a Plugin he developed for wordpress and hence his name next to each post.


    By Anonymous Dreamchaser, at 11:17 AM  

  • Also make use of this link: http://www.google.com/adsense_dmca.html !

    Hope that helps you around!


    By Anonymous Dreamchaser, at 11:21 AM  

  • Enjoy your break, Kaps... Deepavali nalvazthukkal... :-) :-)

    By Blogger Ram.C, at 5:35 PM  

  • if your idea is to advertize ur idea... i think it is good to know that it is getting published in multiple location... plus... these guys are doing the legal way of providing a link back to the orignal contributor

    By Anonymous shocking, at 11:43 AM  

  • Try using the tips on these links:



    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 8:03 PM  

  • I dont think copying a website and aggregating the feeds are the same.

    When you publish your feed to the public, then you cant complain bcos, you implicitly consent to the propagation of the content, across a variety of media, not restricted to the web browsers, email clients, desktop feed readers or even the mobile phones.
    That is the whole idea.

    If you want to keep your content yourself, better keep it on static web pages expecting the readers to come to your site, rather than publish the feed.

    By Anonymous seemsalright, at 11:16 PM  

  • hey ,
    a simple email to info@desiblah.com would have worked too :)
    Your posts are removed,
    Ill remove your previous posts too within 48 hours.
    Good posts . and i would have no problem having your adsense codes in your feeds
    Sorry for the trouble caused to you.
    -The Desiblah guy :)

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 1:56 AM  

  • Hey there,
    A simple email would to info@desiblah.com or mmkay0440@gmail.com would have worked.
    Good posts, i would also have had no problem if you had inserted your adsense codes in your posts. But for now, your feed is removed, and i will remove your posts at within 48-72 hours :)
    Also the credit was always given to you about your posts, and a direct link to your website.. helping you increase your PR.
    But your feeds removed :)
    Have a good one,

    By Anonymous Mayank, at 1:59 AM  

  • haha btw thanks for writing about me, ive been getting crazy visitors from your site hahahaha
    Google adsense team has no problems as long as i provide you a link back to your site.
    And eliott bank is the developer for the rss feed aggregator as mentioned by Dream catcher.
    So in short, my site is just a link directory with details about the link and a link back given to the author .
    Neverless, i still apologize if you feel your feed is misused.
    As you can see, i do not even preapprove it, and this post is on my site too .

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 2:04 AM  

  • the blog looks in accordance with google, but it still is bad if they do not remove your link when requested by you. The fact that your desiblah article is also on there, means that noone really cares. They are giving you free publicity, and back links. Take them its good for you. :)

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 12:05 PM  

  • Kaps>I think seemsalright is right. If you are using feeds, I can actually stream it on my site. I guess most third-party feed-providers do it themselves.

    I dont use Blogger, so can't really saay how it works, but one honest piece of advice- asking Google for any kind of support is an exercise in futilty.

    If you really think there is abuse, write to the hosting company. You can get it from a whois search. Maybe an abuse email ID is listed./

    btw, the link goes to a real-estate site and I didn't see any blogpost aggregation. ??????

    By Anonymous donthecat, at 11:26 PM  

  • After a long time I visit your site. Knowing the answer one should not beg the question.

    Nice articles and the way of expression always attracts! Lage Raho Munna!

    By Anonymous ambimama, at 7:01 PM  

  • india online search

    Here's some useful info on india online search
    which you might be looking for. The url is: http://www.jaldisearch.com/

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at 2:25 PM  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home